History Museum RSBIC "The Smolensk State Museum-Preserve"
Phone: (4812) 38-38-62
Address: 214000, Smolensk region, Smolensk City, Lenin Street, 8
www.russianmuseums.info/M2312 - official web page
The Smolensk State Museum-Preserve - W1508, official web site www.smolensk-museum.ru/
|billboard, events and excursions|
The History Museum is one of the oldest in the system of oldest in the system of the Smolensk Museum-Preserve. S. P. Pisarev, the expert on local lore, opened the Museum of History and Archaeology in the building of the municipal duma (town council) in 1888. Its collection has been increased much from that time. The museum has changed its name and address, but like in old timeit acquaints its visitors with the rich history of the Smolensk Region.
The museum works in the regime of permanent exhibitions. One of them entitled "From money-box to savings-bank book" presents: a part of the rich numismatic collection, things from hoards, the reconstruction of a banker's working place of the 19th century, every possible aspects of bank- notes, promissory notes, bonds, samples of savings-banks books and modern bank product.
Two permanent exhibitions are opened: "The ancient history of the Smolensk Region" and "The City great and rich in people": the Smolensk Land as a part of the Ancient Russia's State in the 9 - 13thcenturies". In March of 2012 a new exhibition has been opened. Its name is "the Two Eagles". It's devoted to the Patriotic War of 1812
A three-stored brick building of the 19thcentury: in that time - a dwelling house with shops. The interior was modifiedwhen restored. The abundant adornment in the spirit of classicism adds solemn and monumental features to this building of eclecticism. One side of it is cut through with a passage to the yard. Itsd?cor is composed along the street fa?ade, where three corners, or rizalits (Italian. risalita "projection") slightly moved forward, are crowned with pediments adjoining to the attics with vases. The ground floor is rusted. Four balconies in tworizalits (two on the left from the entrance and two on the right) have kept metallic grills of a composed ornament. Like in the passage's grill spirals are predominated
Museum foundator: Pisarev Semyon Petrovich (1846-1904)
museum shop, lecture hall, Internet access
Next to the museum there are:
hotels and restaurants
|for museum professionals|
214000, Smolensk City, Communisticheskaya Road, 4
Foundation and opening day:
culture for society, scientific, educational
permament show rooms 942м2
temporary exhibitions 120м2
museum's parks 0,1га
23 (curators: 8)
Average visitors per year:
restoration dep. (живопись, графика, керамика, ткани, темперная живопись, дерево)
|Rare collections (unique items):|
The archeological collection the Gnyozdovo excavations - approx. 2000 things
The incunabular books of the printing pioneer Ivan Fyodorov-3 things
The collection of Charters, scrolls of the 17th- 18th centuries-150 things
The collection of the guilds' banners - 9 things
Web sites and CD-disks:
Copyright (c) 1996-2020 History Museum RSBIC "The Smolensk State Museum-Preserve"
Copyright (c) 1996-2020 Russian Museums .info