Fort ¹5 is a unique monument of the European fortification. It was built after the Franco-Prussian War in 70s of the XIXth century by means of the French indemnity. It was a part of the defensive belt around Koenigsberg. In 1894 it was named in honour of Frederick Wilhelm III who was the king of Prussia from 1797 to 1840.
The Fort has a shape of an elongated hexagon. It is surrounded by a water moat 20-25 meters wide and 3 to 5 meters deep. There are casemates and caponiers inside the wall. It was considered a secret object but in the beginning of the XXth century it lost its military significance and was often used as a place for celebrations and fireworks.
Before World War II the reconstructions of fortifications started. During the storming of Koenigsberg in spring 1945 the Fort ¹5 was on the main attack line of the Soviet Army. It was claimed to be the best fortification of the entire Koenigsberg position and formed a strong resistance. The storming of the fort lasted for three days. It was fired from the huge 280 mm artillery mortar and was heavily destroyed. On 8 April the garrison surrendered to the troops of 43-d army. For outstanding courage and valour displayed during the storming, 15 soldiers were awarded the title Hero of the Soviet Union. The memorial complex in honour of the died during the storming of Koenigsberg is situated on the adjacent territory. A weapon collection is displayed in the fort.
Since 2010 it is a part of Òhe Kaliningrad Regional Museum of History and Art. There are two exhibitions "The storming of Koenigsberg" and "Monuments of fortification architecture"