Orenburg regional Museum of fine arts was founded in 1960 and opened in 1961. The Museum is located in a building built in the early XIX century under the project of architect Mikhaylo Malakhov for the City Council.
The Museum keeps works of old Russian, Russian, Soviet and Western European art ranging from the late sixteenth century to the present day, including paintings, graphics, sculpture, decorative art. The basis of the collection was the collection of works of the academician of painting L. V. Popov (1873 -1914). The Museum has an active collecting, research and promotional activities, organizes a wide range of exhibitions, scientific readings, lectures, and is one of the most important cultural centers of the city and region.
In the Museum of fine arts presents almost all arts and crafts of the Ural region, among them - a unique collection of world-famous Orenburg down shawl.In 2012, the Museum included a Central exhibition hall, and opened an unique Gallery "Orenburg shawl"