www.Museum.ru :
 
http://www.RussianMuseum.info/M105
.
        Web site   |   Professional   |   Images
       in Russian  
Mining museum of National Mineral Resources University of Mines


Phone: (812) 328-80-35

Address: 199106, Saint-Petersburg,

Working hours:*

Internet:
    www.russianmuseums.info/M105 - official web page
    The Mining Museum of the St. Petersburg State Mining University - W698, official web site www.spmi.ru/museum

    E-Mail: ,


billboard, events and excursions



Description:
    The Mining museum was established at the same time as Mining school on October, 21st (today November, 1st) 1773 and confirmed by the Order of Mining school on June, 28th, 1774.

    In 1777 the king of Sweden Gustav III visited Saint-Petersburg and the collection of the Mineralogical room has been shown to him. He made the first official gift to the museum - 202 samples Swedish "ores, salts and stones".

    Today Mining museum keeps unique collections of minerals, ores, rocks and paleontologic remains, the collections of models of mining machinary, cold arms, products of stone-cutting and jeweler art. Museum funds number more than 230 thousand exhibits which were collected from all continents and more than from 80 countries of the world. The museum occupies the best smart historical halls in the building of Mining University with a total area of 4000 sq. m.

    The unique architectural ensemble of Mining University was constructed in 1806-1811 by outstanding Russian architect A.N.Voronihin. In 1821 - 1826 the interiors of Mining museum have been reconstructed by his successor architect A.I.Postnikov in classical traditions.

    By the decree of the President of the Russian Federation No 1112 from July, 30th, 1996 Saint-Petersburg State Mining University was included in the State code of especially valuable objects of cultural heritage of the Russian Federation



Museum's services:
   lecture hall

Next to the museum there are:
    restaurant(s) or caffes


for museum professionals

Administrative phone:
    (812) 321-40-82, Fax: (812) 327-73-59



Foundation and opening day:
    founded: 01.11.1773

Organisation status:
   Ministry

Organization form:
   non-for-profit

Organisation type:
    culture for society, scientific, educational

Classification:
    Natural history,Historical,Science and technics,Painting art


Squares:
    permament show rooms 2568,62м2
    temporary exhibitions 122м2
    museum's store 648м2

Employee number:
    23 (curators: 19)

Average visitors per year:
    24000


Specific departments:
    archive, science library

Collections volume:
    240000, rare collection's items: 234078



Web sites and CD-disks:
    above






Copyright (c) 1996-2017 Mining museum of National Mineral Resources University of Mines

Copyright (c) 1996-2017  Russian Museums .info